Thursday, October 2, 2008

eCPM

Cost per thousand. So I had a misconception on what eCPM meant, I thought this meant the cost that Google was charging the Advertiser to publish the AdSense Ad. This is not the case, so don't think that your getting the raw end of the deal with AdSense.

When reviewing you AdSense earning eCPM stands for cost per thousand. This figure is a calculation of how much an Advertiser earns in comparison to a thousand impressions. Let's say that you have an ad that earns a publisher $200.00 but takes 50,000 impressions to earn the $200.00. The eCPM is the difference between dollar and thousands of clicks, IE 200/50 = 4.00 eCPM.

No comments: